Puget Sound CSTA is pleased to present this year's candidates for the board positions of President, Secretary, and Member at Large. 

Puget Sound CSTA is pleased to present this year's candidates for the board positions of President, Secretary, and Member at Large.  Current PSCSTA members in good standing were sent an email on June 14, 2023 with a link to the ballot.  If your membership has lapsed, click here to rejoin (it's free) by 11:59 pm PST Friday June 16, 2023 and receive access to a ballot.

Please note that you must use the email that you currently have on file with PSCSTA when you submit your ballot.

You can learn more about each candidate below. The election process will close on Monday,  June 26, 2023, at 11:59 pm PST

If you do not receive your ballot or have questions about the election process, please contact Catherine Wyman, our VP and 2023 Elections Coordinator, at csta.pugetsound@gmail.com 


Board Nominee Statements


Dr. Lauren Bricker, nominated for President

Lauren is a faculty member at the Paul Allen School of Computer Science and Engineering at the University of Washington and a former Computer Science high school teacher at Lakeside School in Seattle. She has been a member of PSCSTA since its inception and has performed many roles over the last decade and half, from running many of the programming contests, instituting the Lightning Talks, and serving as Treasurer from 2012-2019 and President from 2019-2023.  She is also a member at large of ECEP (Expanding Computing Education Pathways Alliance) and a GeekWire STEM Educator of the Year in 2021. 


Jacqueline Russell, nominated for Secretary

Jacqueline is a Product Manager working at Microsoft in the Education space and has worked in the tech industry for over 20 years. Jacqueline benefited from wonderful computer science teachers in school, making her believe that she belonged and could succeed. She hopes that her contributions to CSTA can help give back to the community of CS teachers who changed her life.


Tracey Sconyers, nominated for Member at Large

Tracey is a retired middle and high school computer science teacher, having taught at the Lakeside School, University Prep, and Forest Ridge School of the Sacred Heart in Bellevue. She has also taught Computer Science courses at South Seattle Community College, and has worked with Code.org to develop middle school CS curriculum as well as facilitating K-12 CS teacher training for the past 9 years. Tracey is deeply committed to CS education, supporting CS teachers in all phases of their teaching journey, and working towards equity and access for every student in every school.


Elizabeth Bacon, nominated for Member at Large

Elizabeth is currently the Director of Pedagogy at CoderZ, a company dedicated to providing robotics and STEM based courses for K12 students. Previously, she served as a Curriculum Development Manager for Code.org, focusing on middle school curriculum, and is also a former teacher and school administrator. She has also served as the PSCSTA Secretary for the last two years. She is dedicated to supporting teachers and professional development for CS Education, and believes that "the coolest thing ever is programming, and what is even cooler than programming is showing other people how cool it is to program".


Alec McTavish, nominated for Member at Large

Alec Mc Tavish is a long time math, computer science, and CTE teacher and is currently teaching at the Innovation Lab High School in Northshore. He has been involved with PSCSTA since its inception, organizing many, many programming contests over the years, and has  served as a member at large for the last 3 years. He deeply enjoys getting to be part of a full well-rounded growth for his students that can extend well beyond the narrow confines of a single subject. He staunchly supports building a community of teachers through organizations such as PSCSTA who support each other as they help their students find answers for themselves and their community.

Our Sponsors and Partners